The church was built between 1771 and 1781, planned by just one designer and this gives it unity and harmony. The broad courtyard was once the cemetery. The front face, simple but elegant, is closed by a triangular tympanum; above the stone portal there is a big rectangular window. All the church windows are closed by coloured glass walls, recently made, which have softened the beautiful light that originally filtered in. The inside is just one space, divided by broad arches into two bays, each one with a side chapel. The walls are richly decorated with frescoes: the vaults and the high altar display paintings by Sante Cattaneo di Salò, datableto the late 18th century, depicting scenes from the life of Saint John the Baptist. Also valuable are the two canvases by Lattanzio Quarena (1829), located on the side altars and the wooden 18thcentury dead Christ by the Fantoni workshop.
WHAT TO SEE
The rich interior decoration, frescoes and canvases.
IN THE SURROUNDINGS
The oratory of St. Antonio, to the right of the parish church, containing a fresco by Callisto Piazza; the little church of Madonna Addolorata; the chapel of St. Barbara; the historical centre, with the square and the fountain in red sandstone, the medieval towers, the charming alleys; the little church of Madonna di Lourdes, in the Dazza area; the church of St. Anna, in the Paline suburb; the little church of St. Fiorino (or Floriano), on the road to Lova; the little church of St. Fermo (1,868 m. a.s.l.), which refers to the legend of the Saints Fermo, Cristina and Glisente, who, living on three different mountains, communicated their being alive by lighting some fires; the little Alpini church in Val di Moren (1,760 m. a.s.l.); the Nature Regional Reserve of Paline Giovetto Woods.